Hiding behind pregnancy

I’m allowed to be sober while pregnant.
The same folks that would scold me for not partaking on a Friday night, are happy to hang out with me sober – just as long as I’m pregnant.

But the talk has already begun of “glasses of wine on the deck (once you have the baby of course)” and “won’t it be fun when you can party with us again”…

I don’t have the heart to tell them that I quit long before I got pregnant, they just didn’t notice. The 4 months previous were spent fighting this battle and coming out miraculously on top. I’m so proud of those 4 months. And I will continue to count and be proud long after I have my baby.

So the battle once again isn’t with the bottle exactly, but with the drinkers that need me to be drinking too – or else they feel weird.

I have support in my partner in this matter. He tells me to tell anyone that mentions it to go fuck themselves. Ha. Easier said then done. But I like his matter of factness. I like that he will always be on my side, and never ever think it’s weird to be on my side of the bottle.

Anyway, that’s today’s thought of the day.
How to shush the drinkers.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Hiding behind pregnancy

  1. My husband supports me, too, and he is a matter of fact guy, too.
    I have a friend who drinks wine when we go out, and she gets all upset if I don’t have a mocktail or AF beer when she has her wine.
    If I want water, she says, “Oh, then I can’t have fun.”
    I have to talk to her about this…we don’t go out often, but I just don’t understand why drinkers get upset that we don’t drink.
    xo
    Wendy

Leave a comment